Home - About SWUPL - SWUPL at a Glance

SWUPL at a Glance


  Southwest University of Political Science and Law (SWUPL) is located in Chongqing City with the most potentials in China, the upstream area of Yangtze River. Founded in 1950, it is one of the earliest established higher political and legal institutions and the first batch of key universities since the reform and opening up of China. SWUPL is the university with the largest number of legal talents in China. A large number of alumni have become backbones and leading figures in law field and other professions.

  In 2018, SWUPL's master's degree of laws was rated as A level by China professional degree assessment of Ministry of Education(MOE), together with Tsinghua University, Wuhan University and Jilin University, becoming the only A level professional degree authorization point in Chongqing. In 2017, in the 4th round of discipline evaluation by MOE, the discipline of law was also rated as A level, together with Peking University, Tsinghua University and so on.

  SWUPL is also the key university co-administrated by Ministry of Education and Chongqing Municipality. Now SWUPL has strong international exchange programs all over the world, with more than 90 partner universities from U.S., Canada, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Australia, Japan, Thailand, South Korea and so on. SWUPL has established institutions such as Human Rights Research Institution, the China-ASEAN Law Research Center and so on.

  SWUPL consists of 14 schools, including: School of Civil and Commercial law; School of Economic Law; Law School; School of Administrative Law; School of International Law; School of Criminal Investigation; School of Business; School of Economics; School of Foreign Languages; School of Journalism and Communication; School of Politics and Public Administration; School of Marxism; School of Artificial Intelligence Law; School of International Education.